
PC-NC-21.0-Adult (Rev. 2-2021) 

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO 

JEFFREY D. MACKEY, JUDGE 

 

ADULT NAME CHANGE 
  

1. HOW TO APPLY FOR A NAME CHANGE 

A. ONLINE:  Go to “efiling.franklincountyohio.gov” to request an account and apply for your name change online.  

All applicants are encouraged to file online. 

B.  PAPER:  If you are not able to complete an online application, complete the forms attached and return to the court. 

 Mail:  Franklin County Probate Court 
   373 S. High Street, 22nd Floor 
   Columbus, Ohio  43215 
 
 Dropoff:   Franklin County Probate Court Drop Box 
   LOBBY: 369 S. High Street 
     Columbus, Ohio 43215                                                                                                                                                                                                    

2. COST  

A. The cost to file a Name Change Application in the Probate Court is $128.00 plus the cost of publication. 

B. You may choose to publish in the Daily Reporter for $30 or in The Columbus Dispatch for $60. 

Total Cost (select one): Publish in the Daily Reporter  $158                                                                                        
Publish in The Columbus Dispatch $188 

  C.  How to pay: 

1.  Filing ONLINE:  Credit Card 

2.  Filing by MAIL: Money Order payable to the Franklin County Probate Court 

3.  Filing IN PERSON:  Money Order payable to the Franklin County Probate Court or Cash 

 

3.  RESIDENCY 

 Under Ohio law, you must live in Franklin County for at least one-year prior to the filing of your application to 

change your name.  When you file your application, you must provide a copy of a valid, government issued, 

picture I.D. with a current address.   

  If your picture I.D. does not have your current address, you must provide forms that prove residency such as:  a 

lease, rental agreement, bill of sale for purchase of a house, utility bill, or other information that will prove that you have 

lived in Franklin County for at least one year prior to your application. 

 

4. NAME CHANGE HEARINGS 

 You must attend your name change hearing.  Hearings are conducted by telephone.  The Court will call you at 

the telephone number you provide on your application.  Multiple hearings are scheduled at the same time, so you may be 

called up to an hour after the scheduled start time.  Plan to have your ID and be available for the telephone call within an 

hour of the scheduled time.  The magistrate will ask you questions, review the information, and render a decision. 
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Frequently Asked Questions 

 

Q.   What if I’m divorced and want to go back to my maiden name? 

If it is written in your Final Divorce Decree that your maiden name is restored, then your Decree is your legal 

name change.   If your maiden name was not restored during your divorce proceedings, you may apply for a 

name change in this court.  

Q.  I am becoming a U.S. citizen. Can I change my name during the immigration process?   

Yes.  You can change your name during the citizenship process. If you have questions, visit their website at: 

uscis.gov, or contact their customer service department at 1-800-375-5283. 

Q. I am getting married and want to change my last name to my spouse’s last name. Do I need to file for 

a name change with the court? 

No.  Historically, individuals have not been required to file for a legal name change when taking their spouse’s 

last name after marriage.  For more information, visit the Social Security Administration’s website:  

https://faq.ssa.gov/en-us/Topic/article/KA-01981.   

 

After you obtain a new social security card, you may change your name with other agencies and obtain a new 

drivers license or state photo identification with your married name.  With your newly issued state identification, 

you may update your name with any other entity. 

 

Q.   I am getting married and I want to hyphenate my last name and add my spouse’s last name. Do I 

need to go to court?   

 

Probably.  The use of hyphenated names is not clear under the law, especially with the Compliant ID regulations.  

Some governmental agencies may allow you to use your marriage certificate to hyphenate your name and others 

may not.  If you change your name to a hyphenated version with this court it will be recognized by all 

governmental agencies. 

 

Q.  What should I do if I want to change my name and my gender at the same time? 

You may apply for a legal name change through our court to change your name.  You should seek legal advice 

regarding a gender change.  

Q.  If I’m in the Military or College, where is my residency? 

Members of the military and college students can choose to keep their permanent residence in Franklin County 

even if they are currently living at school or stationed elsewhere. 

Q.  How long does the name change process take? 

Usually 60-90 days after your application is filed. 

 

Q.  What if I’m a victim of domestic violence and I do not want my abuser to know my new name? 

 

You should seek the advice of an attorney before filing anything with this court. 
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PC-NC-21.0A (Rev. 02-2021)   

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO  
JEFFREY D. MACKEY, JUDGE 

 

 

   ADULT  

NAME CHANGE APPLICATION INFORMATION  

  

  

Please review this packet of documents and the attached Instructions. Probate Court clerks cannot 

answer legal questions about your name change.  It is required by law that you be a resident of 

Franklin County  for at  least one continuous year  before you  file your application.  If you  

have not lived in Franklin  County  for at least  one year, your  application will be dismissed and 

your filing fees will not be refunded.  
  

FILING FEES AND ALL OTHER COSTS SHALL BE PAID  
BY CREDIT/DEBIT CARD THROUGH THE e-FILING 
SYSTEM BY MAIL WITH A MONEY ORDER OR IN 
PERSON WITH CASH/MONEY ORDER  

  

Statute requires publication of the proposed name change and hearing date and time in a newspaper 

of general circulation in the county. You have two publication options in Franklin County, The 

Columbus Dispatch which costs $60.00 or The Daily Reporter at $30.00. You will be able to make 

this selection at case initiation through the e-Filing System.  
  

The Court will select the date and time of the hearing.  Check your preferred date and time 

below. 
   

  □   Tuesday AM  

   □  Thursday PM  

   □  Friday AM 
 

The papers you file must be typed or written in ink and must be legible. Illegible documents will 

be refused for filing. All names and addresses must be complete.  

 

Use middle names instead of middle initials.  

 

P.O. Boxes are not permitted for the applicant’s address.  

 

Incorrect spellings or incorrect addresses may result in additional costs to you as well as a delay in 

the change of name.   
  

  

ONCE A NAME CHANGE APPLICATION HAS BEEN FILED,  

THERE WILL BE NO COURT COST REFUNDS  
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FRANKLIN COUNTY PROBATE COURT  
JEFFREY D. MACKEY, JUDGE 

  

Documentation required to be provided with your Adult Name Change Application:  

• Scanned and filed image of unexpired photo identification (Government issued).  

• Proof of residency if not included on photo identification.  

• If you are unable to scan, please mail the documents to court at least one week 

before your hearing.   

  

NAME CHANGE STATUTE  
[R.C. 2717.01]  

  

 (A)    

(1) A person desiring a change of name may file an application in the probate 

court of the county in which the person resides. The application shall set forth 

that the applicant has been a bona fide resident of that county for at least one 

year prior to the filing of the application, the cause for which the change of 

name is sought, and the requested new name. The application shall require 

the applicant to state whether the applicant has been convicted of, pleaded 

guilty to, or been adjudicated a delinquent child for identity fraud or has a duty 

to comply with section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code because the 

applicant was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a d elinquent 

child for having committed a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim 

oriented offense.  
  

(2) Except as provided in division (A)(4) of this section, notice of the application 

shall be given once by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the 

county at least thirty days before the hearing on the application. The notice 

shall set forth the court in which the application was filed, the case number, 

and the date and time of the hearing.  
  

(3) Except as provided by division (C) of this section, upon proof that proper 

notice was given or that notice was waived under division (A)(4) of this section 

and proof that the facts set forth in the application show reasonable and 

proper cause for changing the name of the applicant, the court may order the 

change of name.  
  

(4) If an applicant for a change of name submits to the court, along with the 

application described in division (A)(1) of this section, satisfactory proof that 

the publication of the notice under division (A)(2) of this section would 

jeopardize the applicant's personal safety, both of the following apply:  
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(a) The court shall waive the notice requirement.  

(b) If the court orders the change of name under division (A)(3) of this 

section, the court shall order the records of the change of name 

proceeding to be sealed and to be opened only by order of the court for 

good cause shown or at the request of the applicant for any reason.  
  

(B) An application for change of name may be made on behalf of a minor by either of the 

minor's parents, a legal guardian, or a guardian ad litem. When application is made 

on behalf of a minor, in addition to the notice and proof required pursuant to division 

(A) of this section, the consent of both living, legal parents of the minor shall be 

filed, or notice of the hearing shall be given to the parent or parents not consenting 

by certified mail, return receipt requested. If there is no known father of the minor, 

the notice shall be given to the person who the mother of the minor alleges to be 

the father. If no father is so alleged, or if either parent or the address of either 

parent is unknown, notice pursuant to division (A) of this section shall be sufficient 

as to the father or parent.   
  

Any additional notice required by this division may be waived in writing by any 

person entitled to the notice.  
  

 (C)    

(1) The court shall not order a change of name under division (A) of this section 

if the person applying for a change of name or for whom the application for a 

change of name is made has a duty to comply with section 2950.04 or 

2950.041 of the Revised Code because the applicant or the person on whose 

behalf the application for a change of name is made was convicted of, pleaded 

guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquent child for having committed a sexually 

oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense.  
  

(2) The court shall not order a change of name under division (A) of this section 

if the person applying for a change of name or for whom the application for a 

change of name is made has pleaded guilty to, been convicted of, or been 

adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a violation of section 2913.49 of 

the Revised Code unless the guilty plea, conviction, or adjudication has been 

reversed on appeal.  
  

(3) As used in this division, "sexually oriented offense" and "child-victim oriented 

offense" have the same meanings as in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code.  
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PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO 
JEFFREY D. MACKEY, JUDGE 

 

IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF  
    Present Name 

TO  

  

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF ADULT 
[R.C. 2717.01] 

The applicant states that the applicant is an adult and has been a bona fide resident of   
                  (County) 
County, Ohio, for at least one year immediately prior to the filing of this application. 

 

The applicant requests a change of name from    

to    

for the following reason:    

  

  

 

The applicant states that there is reasonable and proper cause for the change of name, and that the change of name is not 

being done for any improper purpose, including but not limited to: 

1. Avoid law enforcement authorities; 

2. Create confusion as to my identity; or 

3. Avoid creditors 

 

The applicant states that the applicant will cause notice of the application to be published once in a newspaper of general 

circulation in this county at least thirty (30) days before the hearing on this application.4.0. 

4.0e FORM NC-21.0 - APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF ADULT 

CASE NO.  

       Name Requested 



CASE NO.  

The applicant states that the person for whom a change of name is being requested: 

has not  been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or been adjudicated a delinquent child for identity fraud. 

has no  duty to comply with R.C. 2950.04 or R.C. 2950.041 because the applicant was convicted  

of, pled guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquent child for having committed a sexually oriented offense or a child-

victim offense. 

ATTENTION: 

The Court will check the public records to see if the applicant has a criminal record. 

   
Attorney for Applicant   

 
Typed or Printed Name  

 
Address  

 
City, State, Zip Code  

 

  

  
  

  
  

  
  

  

Applicant’s Signature 

 
Typed or Printed Name 

 
Address 

 
City, State, Zip Code 

 

Telephone Number (include area code)    Telephone Number (include area code) 

  
Attorney’s Registration No. 
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   has   
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       PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO 
         JEFFREY D. MACKEY, JUDGE 

IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF  
          Present Name 
 

TO           

 

ADULT INFORMATION FORM 

APPLICANT’S NAME:  

PRESENT ADDRESS:  

MARITAL STATUS: _______________________________________________________________________ 

 

AGE: _______   DATE OF BIRTH: ____________________ PLACE OF BIRTH:_______________________ 
 City/County/Country 

APPLICANT’S NAME ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE:  

 

N O T E 

If married or divorced/dissolution, please provide the following information: 

 

NAME OF FORMER/PRESENT SPOUSE:  

ADDRESS OF ABOVE:  

NAMES AND AGES OF CHILDREN:  

 

 

 

 ADDRESS OF ABOVE:       ____________________________________________________________ 
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Name Requested 



 

PC-NC-17.0F  

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO 
JEFFREY D. MACKEY, JUDGE  

 

 IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF _________________________________________________      
             Present Name  

  

 TO: _____________________________________________________________         
         Name Requested  

  

  

CASE NO.: ____________________________  

  

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF APPLICANT  

SANCTIONS FOR FAILURE TO APPEAR AT HEARING  
   

______ 1)  
The undersigned applicant acknowledges that the applicant must be available 
by telephone for the scheduled hearing, or arrange for a continuance in writing 
prior to the date and time of the scheduled hearing; and must pay the court costs 
associated with an entry continuing the hearing.   

______ 2)  
Applicant acknowledges that if they do not appear at the initial scheduled 
telephone hearing, and have not arranged for a continuance in writing prior to 
the date and time of the scheduled hearing, they will have only 30 days to appear 
and reschedule the hearing; and the applicant must pay the court costs 
associated with an entry continuing the hearing.   

______ 3)  
Applicant acknowledges that if the applicant does not appear within 30 days of 
the last scheduled hearing date, the case will be closed, and a new application 
must be filed with new publication notice and new payment of court costs.   

______ 4)  The applicant states that they can read and write the English language.  

______ 5)  

The applicant does not understand the written English language and  requests 

an interpreter to appear at the hearing with them.  The interpreter should be able 

to read and write English and my language of: __________________________.  

 

 __________________________________     _________________________________  
 Date              Applicant  
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