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PC-NC-21.0A-Minor (Rev. 7-2015)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO
ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

MINOR NAME CHANGE
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How do | prove my residency?

The parent/applicant must be a resident of Franklin County for at least one year at the time of the filing. The
applicant must show a valid picture 1.D. with a current address. If the picture 1.D. does not have a current address,
forms must be provided that prove residency such as: A lease, rental agreement, bill of sale for purchasing a home
or condo, utility bill, or any other form of information that will prove residency in Franklin County at least one year
continuously.

How much does it cost to change a Minor’s name?

The cost to file a Name Change Application in the Probate Court is $128.00 plus the cost of publication ($30.00
through the Daily Reporter and $60.00 through The Columbus Dispatch). Costs are to be paid by credit or debit card
(online only). If you apply in person you may pay by cash or money order, personal checks are not accepted.
Why does the Name Change have to be published in the newspaper?

This is a requirement of Ohio law.

Who can file for a minor name change?

An application can be filed for a minor by either of the minor’s parents, legal guardian, or guardian ad litem.

Why do | have to give notice to the other parent about the filing and hearing date?

The law says that the consent of both living, legal parents of the minor shall be filed. Consent can be given on (Form
PC-NC-21.4) located within the name change packet. A non-consenting parent must be notified of the hearing by
certified mail through the United States Postal Service, “USPS”. The certified mail green card with signature must
be brought to the hearing or filed prior to the hearing to show notification of the hearing was received by the non-
consenting parent. If the mail is unclaimed or not signed for, the applicant must bring in the whole envelope with the
green card still attached. If the notice is returned unclaimed, then regular mail through the USPS must be sent by
the applicant to the non-consenting parent and the applicant must bring proof from the USPS of regular mail sent.
What if | do not know where my child’s other parent is?

The law requires that you prove to the court that you made reasonable efforts to find the other parent. The court will
require you to testify under oath regarding the efforts you made to find the other parent. If valid notice is not given
to the other parent and the name change is approved it is subject to reversal at a future date.

What if | do not know who my child’s father is?

If a father’s name is not on the Birth Certificate and he has not been legally determined to be the father then his
consent is not required.
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What if | am a victim of domestic violence and | do not want my abuser to find out where my child and I live?
You should seek the advice of an attorney before filing anything with this court.
Do | need to get a new Birth Certificate for my child with the new name?

You must present the certified name change entry (given to you by this court) to the health department vital statistics
in the state in which the child was born. In Ohio, the Entry Changing Name from this court does not change the
birth certificate; however, the Entry Changing Name does become part of the person’s birth record. There is a list of
agencies in Ohio you should provide a Certified Copy of your Entry to, the court will provide a list of these agencies
to you after the hearing.

Does changing my child’s last name to my spouse’s or domestic partner’s name work the same as an
adoption?

No.

| want to change my child’s name and the father is not on the birth certificate?

The Probate Court only has jurisdiction to change your child’s name. You may contact the Franklin County
Child Support Enforcement Agency or  Juvenile Court to obtain information about filing an acknowledgement of
paternity.

| want to change my child’s name and there is an incorrect father on the birth certificate.

The Probate Court can change your child’s name. You should contact the Franklin County Juvenile Court and
obtain information about filing a Complaint to Establish the Non-Existence of a Father/Child Relationship to get the
correct father on the birth certificate. You may be able change the child’s last name in that process as well.

What can | expect at the hearing?

The magistrate will question the applicant and any witness, if necessary. They will also review the information in the
case file before rendering his or her decision. If the name change is for a minor, the magistrate also will determine
if both parents have provided consent. If a parent has received notice of a hearing and has not consented to the
name change a magistrate will decide, after reviewing all the facts, if the name change is in the minor’s best interest
and is reasonable and proper. If the application is contested the parties shall come prepared for a trial.

How long does the name change process take?

The hearing for the change of name will be set for 60-90 days after the application is filed. Please contact the clerk
to verify the current wait time for a hearing.
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PC-NC-21.2G-Minor (Rev.8-2015)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO
ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

MINOR NAME CHANGE
APPLICATION INFORMATION

Please review this packet of documents. The Probate Court clerk is not an attorney and cannot answer questions about
your name change. It is required by law that you be a resident of Franklin County for at least one continuous year before
you file your packet. If you have not lived in Franklin County for at least one year, your application will be dismissed and
your filing fees will not be refunded.

FILING FEES AND ALL OTHER COSTS SHALL BE PAID
BY CREDIT/DEBIT CARD THROUGH THE e-FILING SYSTEM
OR IN PERSON WITH CASH/MONEY ORDER

Statute requires publication of the proposed name change and hearing date and time in a newspaper of general circulation
in the county. You have two publication options in Franklin County, The Columbus Dispatch which costs $60.00 or The Daily
Reporter at $30.00. You will be able to make this selection at case initiation through the e-Filing system.

The Court will select the date and time of the hearing. You may choose your preference of a Tuesday morning or Thursday
afternoon hearing. Check one of the boxes below:

[] Tuesday AM
] Thursday PM

If you are attempting to change the name of a minor, the parents of the minor, including the alleged father, must consent to
the name change or receive legal notice of the name change. The parent or alleged father must receive legal notice of the
filing of the name change application and the hearing that is scheduled, regardless of the amount of contact with the child
or the amount of support paid.

In a minor name change, if a parent does not consent, the applicant must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the
name change is in the minor’s best interest. This may require witnesses and evidence to be presented at a hearing. If you
have any questions as to how to present your case, you should consult with an attorney.

The papers you file must be typed or written in ink and must be legible. lllegible documents will not be accepted for filing.
All names and addressed must be complete. Use middle names instead of middle initials. P.O. Boxes are not permitted for
the applicant’s address. Incorrect spellings or incorrect addresses may result in additional costs to you as well as a delay
in the change of name.

ONCE A NAME CHANGE APPLICATION HAS BEEN FILE,
THERE WILL BE NO REFUNDS OF COURT COSTS ISSUED.
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PC-NC-21.0C-Minor (Rev. 8-2015)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO
ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

Documentation required prior to Minor Name Change Application hearing:

[ Scanned and filed image of birth certificate

* Proof of parentage from a court or government agency if not on birth certificate

[ Scanned and filed image of death certificate of a deceased parent

[ Scanned and filed image of applicant’'s unexpired photo identification (government issued)

] Consent to Change Name of non-applicant parent (form PC-NC-21.4)

* Or return receipt of certified mail notice

* Or Affidavit that non-applicant parent cannot be found (form PC-NC-21.2E)

(] If you are unable to scan, please bring documentation to court for processing the day of your hearing.

Items

you must bring to the hearing:

[ Proof of residency for applicant if not included on photo identification

(A) (1)

NAME CHANGE STATUTE

[R.C. 2717.01]

A person desiring a change of name may file an application in the probate court of the county in which the person
resides. The application shall set forth that the applicant has been a bona fide resident of that county for at least
one year prior to the filing of the application, the cause for which the change of name is sought, and the requested
new name. The application shall require the applicant to state whether the applicant has been convicted of, pleaded
guilty to, or been adjudicated a delinquent child for identity fraud or has a duty to comply with section 2950.04 or
2950.041 of the Revised Code because the applicant was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a
delinquent child for having committed a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim offense.

Except as provided in division (A)(4) of this section, notice of the application shall be given once by publication in a
newspaper of general circulation in the county at least thirty days before the hearing on the application. The notice
shall set forth the court in which the application was filed, the case number, and the date and time of the hearing.

Except as provided by division (C) of this section, upon proof that proper notice was given or that notice was waived
under division (A)(4) of this section and proof that the facts set forth in the application show reasonable and proper
cause for changing the name of the applicant, the court may order the change of name.

If an applicant for a change of name submits to the court, along with the application described in division (A)(1) of
this section, satisfactory proof that the publication of the notice under division (A)(2) of this section would jeopardize
the applicant’s personal safety, both the following apply:

(@) The court shall waive the notice requirement.

(b) If the court orders the change of name under division (A)(3) of this section, the court shall order the records of
the change of name proceeding to be sealed and to be opened only by order of the court for good cause shown
or at the request of the applicant for any reason.
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(B)

(©)(1)

An application for change of name may be made on behalf of a minor by either of the minor’s parents, a legal
guardian, or a guardian ad litem. When application is made on behalf of a minor, in addition to the notice and proof
required pursuant to division (A) of this section, the consent of both living, legal parents of the minor shall be filed, or
notice of the hearing shall be given to the parent or parents not consenting by certified mail, return receipt required.
If there is no known father of the minor, the notice shall be given to the person who the mother of the minor alleges
to be the father. If no father is so alleged, or if either parent or the address of either parent is unknown, notice
pursuant to division (A) of this section shall be sufficient as to the father or parent.

Any additional notice required by this division may be waived in writing by any person entitled to the notice.

The court shall not order a change of name under division (A) of this section if the person applying for a change
of name or for whom the application for a change of name is made has a duty to comply with section 2950.04 or
2950.041 or the Revised Code because the applicant or the person on whose behalf the application for a change
of name is made was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquent child for having committed a
sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense.

(2) The court shall not order a change of name under division (A) of this section of the person applying for a change of

name or for whom the application for a change of name is made has pleaded guilty to, been convicted of, or been
adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a violation of section 2913.49 of the Revised Code unless the guilty
plea, conviction, or adjudication has been reversed on appeal.

(3) As used in this division, “sexually oriented offense” and “child-victim oriented offense” have the same meanings as

in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code.
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PC-NC-21.2A (Rev. 9-2016)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO
ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF
TO
CASE NO.

Present Name

Name Requested

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF MINOR

[R.C. 2717.01]
The applicant states that the applicant is the [ parent [Jlegal guardian [ guardian ad litem of the minor and
that the minor has been a bona fide resident of Franklin County, Ohio, for at least one year immediately prior to
the filing of this application.
A certified copy of the minor’s birth certificate is attached.

[0 The applicant states that the name and address of parent 1 of the minor is:

Name

Address

City State Zip

] and the name and address of the father or alleged parent 2 of the minor is:

Name

Address

City State Zip

[ and the name and address of any other parent or alleged parent of the minor is:

Name

Address

City State Zip

[ Applicant states that the address of [] parent 1 [] parent 2 [] mother [] father [] alleged father is unknown
and cannot with reasonable diligence be ascertained.

] There is no person alleged to be the father of said minor.
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CASE NO.

The applicant states that the person for whom a change of name is being requested

— [Jhas [Jhas not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or been adjudicated a delinquent child for identity fraud.
nitals

e [Jhas [Jhas no duty to comply with R.C. 2950.04 or R.C. 2950.041 because the applicant was convicted
nitals
of, pled guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquent child for having committed a sexually oriented offense

or a child-victim offense.

[0 The applicant requests a change of name of the minor from

to

for the following reason:

The applicant states that there is reasonable and proper cause to change the minor’s name, that the change of
name is in the minor’s best interest and that the change of name is not being done for any improper purpose,
including but not limited to:

1. Avoid law enforcement authorities;

2. Obstruct any person’s right of custody or visitation.

The applicant states that the applicant will cause notice of the application to be published once in a newspaper of
general circulation in this county at least 30 days before the hearing on this application. In addition, notice will be
given by the applicant to any non-consenting parent or alleged parent, whose addresses are known, by certified

mail, return receipt requested. YOU MUST DIGITALLY SIGN THE APPLICATION AS FOLLOWS: /s/ YOUR NAME
“EXAMPLE: /s/ JOAN Q PUBLIC

Attorney for Applicant Applicant’s Signature

Typed or Printed Name Typed or Printed Name

Address Address

City, State, Zip Code City, State, Zip Code

Telephone Number (include area code) Telephone Number (include area code)

Attorney’s Registration No.

FORM NC-21.2A - APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF MINOR
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PC-NC-21.0F (Rev. 04-2013)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO
ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF
TO
CASE NO.

Present Name

Name Requested

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF APPLICANT
SANCTIONS FOR FAILURE TO APPEAR AT HEARING

1. The undersigned applicant acknowledges that the applicant must appear in probate court for the scheduled

hearing, or arrange for a continuance in writing prior to the date and time of the scheduled hearing; and must pay

the court cost associated with an entry continuing the hearing.

2. Applicant acknowledges that if they do not appear at the initial hearing day, and have not arranged for a continuance

in writing prior to the date and time of the scheduled hearing, they will have only 30 days to appear and reschedule

the hearing; and the applicant must pay the court cost associated with an entry continuing the hearing.

3. Applicant acknowledges that if the applicant does not appear within 30 days of the last scheduled hearing date, the

case will be closed, and a new application must be filed with new publication notice and new payment of court costs.

4. The applicant states that they can read and write the English language and have all their questions answered by

the deputy clerk.

5. The applicant does not understand the written English language and requests aninterpreter to appear at the hearing with them.

The interpreter should be able to read and write English and my language of

YOU MUST DIGITALLY SIGN THE APPLICATION AS FOLLOWS: /s/ YOUR NAME
*EXAMPLE: /s/ JOAN Q PUBLIC

Applicant Date
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PC-NC-21.2E (Rev. 7-2015)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO

ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF

Present Name

TO
CASE NO.

Name Requested

AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF OHIO, COUNTY OF FRANKLIN, ss:

, being first duly sworn according to law, states that:

U is the parent or alleged father of

minor, and that said person’s

whereabouts is unknown and can not with reasonable diligence be ascertained.

1 There are no persons alleged to be the father of said minor.

Applicant’s Signature

YOU MUST DIGITALLY SIGN THE APPLICATION AS FOLLOWS: /s/ YOUR NAME
**EXAMPLE: /s/ JOAN Q PUBLIC

day of

Sworn to and subscribed before me a Notary Public or Deputy Clerk of the Probate Court on this

, 20

Notary Public/Deputy Clerk

ATTENTION

The Judge/Magistrate hearing this case will ask you what
you have done to find the above named parent.
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PC-NC-21.4 (Rev. 7-2015)

PROBATE COURT OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO

ROBERT G. MONTGOMERY, JUDGE

IN RE: CHANGE OF NAME OF
TO
CASE NO.

Present Name

Name Requested

CONSENT TO CHANGE OF NAME

The undersigned

[check one of the following 3 capacities by which your consent is given]
L] Mother
L1 Father
] Alleged Father

hereby waives notice of the hearing on the Application for Change of Name and consents to the change of name of

to

YOU MUST DIGITALLY SIGN THE APPLICATION AS FOLLOWS: /s/ YOUR

as proposed in the Application. NAME
**EXAMPLE: /s/ JOAN Q PUBLIC

Signature

Typed or Printed Name

Sworn to and subscribed before me a Notary Public or Deputy Clerk of the Probate Court on this day of
, 20
Notary Public/Deputy Clerk
11-1-00

FORM 21.4 - CONSENT TO CHANGE OF NAME
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