
Must a Will be presented to the court?
A Will should be presented to the probate court as soon 

as practical after the death of an individual, even if there are 
no known probate assets. A person who withholds a Will 
intentionally, negligently, or without reasonable cause may 
lose the right to inherit.

What property must be appraised?
Property must be appraised if the value is not readily 

ascertainable. Examples include real estate and closely held 
business interests.

How are court costs determined?
Court costs are determined by statute. An estate will 

require an initial minimum deposit of $125. Court costs for 
an estate are usually less than $230, but the total cost will vary 
depending on the type of actions and pleadings filed.  The 
court suggests a $250 deposit.

This pamphlet has been prepared as a public service 
to provide an understanding of estate administration. It is 
an overview and should not be considered a legal reference.
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What is estate administration?
Estate administration is the process by which a person’s 

assets are collected, maintained, and distributed among 
creditors, heirs and beneficiaries according to the person’s 
Will and the laws of Ohio.

When an individual dies, some of the person’s assets 
may be transferred by trust, joint and survivorship property, 
payable on death accounts, transfer on death property, and 
beneficiaries named under life insurance and retirement 
benefits. These are non-probate assets. Other assets must be 
transferred through proceedings in probate court and these are 
called probate assets. Most people die owning both probate 
and non-probate assets.

How does the probate process begin?
After the death of an individual, the probate process begins 

by any interested person filing an application to administer the 
estate in the county in which the decedent lived. The court 
will appoint an estate representative, called a fiduciary. The 
fiduciary is responsible for administering the decedent’s estate 
and accounting to the court for that administration. A bond 
may be required of the fiduciary to protect the beneficiaries 
and creditors of the estate and to ensure proper administration 
of the estate’s probate assets.

How are fiduciary fees determined?
Ohio law sets forth fees for a fiduciary of an estate as follows:

•	 4% of the first $100,000 of personal property, 
income, and proceeds of real estate sold;

•	 3% of the next $300,000;
•	 2% of the balance;
•	 1% of the value of real estate not sold; and
•	 For dates of death after 2012, 1% of all property that 

is not subject to probate administration except joint 
and survivorship property. 

The fiduciary may waive the fee. Additional fees can be 
awarded for extraordinary services.

Does a fiduciary need an attorney?
Due to the complexity of the law and the legal issues 

that can arise in estate administration, the court strongly 
recommends that all fiduciaries retain legal counsel.

How are attorney fees determined?
There is no minimum fee or percentage fee for the 

attorney. In Franklin County, the fee is primarily a matter 
between the fiduciary, the attorney, and others affected by the 
fee. However, the court must approve all attorney fees.

How long should it take to            
administer an estate?

The time it takes to administer an estate depends on 
each estate’s circumstances. Some estates are administered 
in six to nine months. Some circumstances extending estate 
administration may include the sale of real estate, filing an 
estate tax return, or if the estate is involved in litigation.

What are the steps of an                   
estate administration?

The basic steps of administration are as follows:

•	 Filing of an application for authority to 
administer the estate and admit the will to 
probate, if one exists;

•	 Appointment of fiduciary;

•	 Gathering assets and obtaining appraisals as 
required;

•	 Filing an inventory of 
assets;

•	 Paying creditors;

•	 filing estate and income 
tax returns and paying 
taxes, if any; 

•	 Distributing remaining 
assets to beneficiaries;

•	 Filing accounts; and

•	 Closing the estate.

May funds be withdrawn from      
bank accounts?

Accounts registered in the decedent’s name alone may 
only be withdrawn by a court appointed fiduciary or by 
court order. Survivorship, payable on death, and transfer on 
death accounts may be withdrawn by the survivor or named 
beneficiary.

May items be removed from a               
safe deposit box?

Access to a decedent’s safe deposit box depends on the 
decedent’s contract with the bank. Some financial institutions 
require a court order before allowing access to a safe deposit 
box. 

What if there is no Will?
If the decedent had no Will, the decedent’s probate 

property is distributed to the decedent’s nearest surviving kin 
in the manner as set forth in the law. 

What if the Will is 
unclear?

If the Will is unclear, an 
action to construe the Will may 
be filed in the probate court. A 
hearing is held to determine the 
intent of the testator.

May I object to the Will?
Any interested party may contest the validity of a Will. A 

Will contest must be filed within three months after the filing 
of a certificate that all interested persons were given or waived 
notice of the admission of the Will to probate.


